• stop users from sharing WP accounts
  • block double username login attempts
  • block simultaneous logins with same IP
  • block users behind a proxy

All settings are available under Settings – Block Double Logins.

General Settings

Login Warning Message – message displayed on top of default login form. It serves as a warning to all who are logging in to the site. Leave blank to remove.

Plugin Override Code – use this code and URL to force your next login regardless of other people who may be logged in with the same IP or username. It disables the proxy block too. Please do not share this URL as it’s supposed to be used only in emergencies. We also recommend using the “send to email” function so that you have the URL in a convenient location.

Session Lock Timeout – time for user inactivity after which the locks on username and IP are released. If the user properly logs out the lock is immediately released. Depending on the type of your site you should adjust the value to something lower (if you want the locks released faster) or higher (if there’s no need for that). Default: 10 minutes.

Controlled User Roles – user roles on which all plugin rules are applied. To maximize security we recommend keeping the default setting – all roles; but adjust it to your needs as necessary.

Username Based Blocking

Prevent Double Login Based on Username – enables/disables the rule that at any given time a single WordPress account can only be used by one person.

Error Message on Login – message displayed on login form when double login is attempted.

IP Based Blocking

Prevent Double Login Based on IP – enables/disables the rule that at any given time a single IP can only be logged in with one WordPress account.

Error Message on Login – message displayed on login form when double login is attempted.

Block Users Who Use Proxies – people who use proxies will not be able to login. WARNING! There might be false negatives and in rare cases false positives. It’s impossible to say with 100% certainty if someone is behind a proxy if they really want to hide it.

Error Message for Proxy Users – message displayed on login form after users behind a proxy attempt to login.

Tools

All double login attempts are logged and you can view the last 200 events in the log. You can also view current username and IP based locks. If needed those locks can be reset as well. That won’t log you out. Just be sure to refresh the page after resetting so that you get a new session.